## **County of Santa Clara**

Office of Supportive Housing

3180 Newberry Dr. Suite 150 San Jose, CA 95118 (408) 793-0550 Main (408) 266-0124 Fax



February 9, 2016

Deanna Santana, City Manager City of Sunnyvale 456 W. Olive Street Sunnyvale, CA 95086

SUBJECT: North County Cold Weather Shelter Program

Dear Ms. Santana:

Since April 2014, the County of Santa Clara, cities and many stakeholders have been trying to establish one or more permanent North County locations for emergency shelter during the cold weather season. For this season, we collaborated with the City of Sunnyvale to site a modular building as a temporary shelter on a Sunnyvale-owned parcel on the former Onizuka Air Force Station. This site will not be available next season. The County must move or store the modular building no later than April 30, 2016.

County staff have been directed to determine the feasibility of using a County-owned property at 999 Hamlin Court in Sunnyvale as a permanent 100-bed cold weather shelter for homeless persons during cold weather seasons (from the end of November to the end of March). While we explore options at the Hamlin property, we remain open to alternatives. We are checking with North County cities, businesses and community organizations to ask if they have any land or buildings that could: a) be used for the cold weather shelter program, even if the property could accommodate less than 100 persons per night; or, b) be used to temporarily or permanently site the County-owned modular building that is currently in use. In that vein, we are also interested in pursuing the possibility of siting (on a short-term basis) the modular building on Parcel E at Onizuka, if you and the Council would be open to that possibility.

We appreciate your time and consideration of our request. If you have any questions about this, please feel free to contact me at 408-793-0551 or <u>Ky.Le@hhs.sccgovorg</u>.

Sincerely,

Ky Le, Director Office of Supportive Housing

Cc: Gary Graves, Chief Operating Officer, County of Santa Clara Trudi Ryan, Director, Community Development Department

Board of Supervisors: Mike Wasserman, Dave Cortese, Ken Yeager, S. Joseph Simitian, Cindy Chavez County Executive: Jeffrey V. Smith